Travel News‎ > ‎

Historic Ho Citadel’s VND22 billion upgrade

posted Oct 27, 2011, 3:41 AM by Dong Travel   [ updated Oct 27, 2011, 3:41 AM by Mickey Dong Hoang Thinh ]
Ho Citadel was added to the nation’s list of World Heritages by UNESCO in June and in order to honor, introduce and promote typical cultural and historical relics of the citadel, the authorities in Thanh Hoa Province have decided to spend nearly VND22 billion to upgrade the facilities of this heritage.

The project will be carried out until June 2012 and as part of the plan, the website of the heritage will be renewed and bolstered with more information and documents for tourists to learn more about the ancient building.

The preservation center for the citadel will team up with scientists to excavate the old stone mountain An Ton and neighboring relics as well as works for Nam Giao Offering Rituals at the citadel.

The province will collaborate with the Directorate for Roads of Vietnam to repair and update damaged sections of the National Road No.45, No. 217 through Vinh Loc Township.

The province will also open bus routes to the site to meet tourist demands.

Ho Citadel was built in 1397-1401 by Ho Quy Ly and the Ho Family. When ascending the throne in 1400, Ho Quy Ly moved the capital city of Vietnam from Dong Do (Hanoi) to Vinh Loc Thanh Hoa in a defensive move against the political situation in Vietnam and threats of invasion from the north.

Located in the two communes of Vinh Tien and Vinh Long, the citadel was build to prepare for a long battle. Therefore, the king chose a very special position for the citadel which is nestled amidst Ma and Buoi rivers, Tho Mountain in the north, Nguu Ngoa Mountain in the west, Hac Khuyen Mountain in the east and the south is the converging place of the two rivers.

Built by long rocks which are between 1.5 meters and 6 meters long and overlap on each other without any kind of mortar, the citadel is untouched after more than six centuries.

It includes three sections: La Thanh Hao Thanh and Hoang Thanh. La Thanh is the outside wall or bamboo edge with perimeter of about four kilometers. Hao Thanh is the water trench and citadel wall to protect the internal area.

The internal section has palaces such as: Hoang Nguyen, Nhan Tho, Phu Cuc, Dong Cung, Dong Thai Mieu, Tay Thai Mieu, Diem Canh, with marble-paved roads connecting different palaces to each other.

The outside of the citadel has constructed works such as: Bao Thanh (Ly Cung) palace, altar of the sky and the earth, patterned-brick access to the sky and the earth altar. The citadel has four gates at the central of four edges South, North, East, and West.

Walls are about five to ten meters high and built by giant limestone rocks which are 1.5 meters to 6 meters long and weigh about 24 tons. The total quantity of rocks used to build Ho Citadel is about 20,000 cubic meters and 100,000 cubic meters of soil.

Source: SGT